Maison Charles

In 1908, Maison Charles is born thanks to Ernest Charles that takes over the Maison ULLMANN, bronzier. The company only uses bronze and first specialize itself in the former lightings reproduction, an activity that allows it to build a strong reputation among art bronziers.

All craftsmen joining Maison Charles are graduated from the most prestigious Art schools such as the two Ernest CHARLES’ son entering in the company in 1959. Jean, valedictorian from the Boulle School and Jacques, graduated from Applied Arts. Their arrival brings a fresh renewal in the Maison CHARLES creation that develops her true characteristic style, between classicism and uniqueness with the most famous and desired, still today : PINEAPPLE, EAR OF CORN, PINE CONE, etc.

 

The Chrystiane Charles’ direction

 

In 1972, Chrystiane CHARLES, Jean’spouse and Gilt medal from Beaux-Art in sculpture, take over the artistic direction of the Maison CHARLES and create the Collection that wears her name. She proposes a set of sculptural lamps, signed and numerated, inspired by the Nature : AMARYLLIS, TRADE WIND, ORCHID, TULIP…
Several Crystiane CHARLES creation are recognized and rewarded by a Creation Gold Lamp of the International Salon of the Lightings of Paris. In 1997, Chrystiane CHARLES receive the distinction of Knight of the French National Order of Merit

In 1984, Maison CHARLES is welcomed inside the Colbert Committee that gathers the most famous French art worker companies, confirming the reputation and the quality of the Maison.

 

Maison Charles in the 2000’s

 

maison charles signature lamp gilt bronze

In the years 2000, the company get through difficult times with a creation breathlessness and money issues. A young investor, Micheal Wagner, former of the Hermès Pantin workshops, acquired the company. He becomes the new Maison CHARLES director and revitalize it. Maison CHARLES moves and settles in the former Christofle’s workshops, in Saint-Denis. This acquisition was salutary because it permits to save the company that has today a perennial activity.

Today, the company is specialized on custom made pieces for private clients, art galleries or interior designers as well as limited sets of the Maison CHARLES’ best sellers.

En 1908, la Maison CHARLES voit le jour grâce à Ernest Charles, qui reprend la Maison ULLMANN, Bronzier.  La société ne travaille que le bronze et se spécialise initialement dans la reproduction de luminaires anciens, activité qui lui permet de se forger une réputation au sein des bronziers d’art.

Tous les artisans qui rejoignent la Maison CHARLES sortent des plus prestigieuses écoles d’art, tels que les deux fils d’Ernest CHARLES qui entrent dans t la Maison en 1959 :  Jean, Major de l’École Boulle et Jacques, diplômé des Arts Appliqués. L’arrivée des fils CHARLES permet l’apport d’un certain renouveau dans la création de la Maison qui développe alors véritablement son style caractéristique, entre classicisme et originalité, avec les modèles de lampes les plus connus et recherchés, encore de nos jours : ANANAS, EPI DE MAÏS, POMME DE PIN, etc

 

La direction de Chrystiane Charles

 

En 1972, Chrystiane CHARLES, épouse de Jean, et médaillée d’Or des Beaux Arts en sculpture, prend la Direction Artistique de la Maison CHARLES et créé la Collection qui porte son nom. Elle proposera une série de lampes-sculptures signées et numérotées et inspirées de la nature : AMARYLLIS, ALIZEE, ORCHIDEE, TULIPES…
Plusieurs création de Christiane CHARLES seront reconnues et récompensées par une Lampe d’Or de la Création au Salon International du Luminaire de Paris. En 1997, Chrystiane CHARLES recevra même les insignes de Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite.

En 1984, la Maison CHARLES est accueillie au sein du Comité Colbert qui regroupe les entreprises françaises de métiers d’art et de création les plus réputées, confirmant ainsi la renommée et la qualité de la maison.

La Maison Charles et les années 2000

 

signature-maison-charles-lampe-bronze-doré

Dans les années 2000, la société traverse une période difficile d’essoufflement et de difficultés financières. Un jeune investisseur, Michael Wagner, ancien des ateliers Hermès de Pantin, rachète l’entreprise familiale. Il devient le nouveau directeur de la Maison CHARLES et redonne un nouveau souffle à la société. La Maison CHARLES déménage et s’installe dans les anciens ateliers de Christofle, à Saint-Denis. Ce rachat fut salutaire et permis de sauver l’entreprise qui a pu retrouver une activité pérenne.

Aujourd’hui, l’entreprise est spécialisée dans les pièces faites sur mesure pour des clients privés, des galeries d’art ou des des designers d’intérieur ainsi que dans la production, en séries limitées, de best-sellers de la Maison.